Christopher Larus Named Finalist for Legaltech News’ Leaders in Tech Law Award for Innovator of The Year

January 31, 2023

Minneapolis Lawyer Chris Larus

Robins Kaplan LLP is pleased to announce that LegalTech News has named Christopher Larus a finalist for “Innovator of the Year” as part of its 2023 Legalweek Leaders in Tech Law Awards.

According to LegalTech News, the Legalweek Leaders in Tech Law Awards honor individuals and organizations for their achievements in innovation over the past year in a wide range of categories across law firms, legal departments, and technology vendors.

Larus is recognized for his role in developing and advancing Pinpoint IP®, a proprietary set of software tools that enable innovators, investors, and potential licensees to evaluate IP, identify hidden value, and better maintain, defend, or monetize their technology and innovation assets.

While other stand-alone patent analytic tools exist, Pinpoint IP is unique in its approach to using objective, statistically significant indicators to identify patents most likely to survive challenges in litigation. The firm has leveraged Pinpoint IP to help clients generate revenue from their patent portfolios, create counter-leverage to avoid threatened litigation, and even prepare for the entry of foreign competitors into the U.S. market.

“Chris Larus is a pioneer in harmonizing our firm’s varied expert resources to make the client’s life easier,” said Shelley Gilliss, the firm’s Chief Talent Officer and Chief Administrative Officer. “The perfect example is Pinpoint IP, which Chris developed with an economist, a software developer, and other subject matter experts on our team. Chris leads our firm—and the broader legal community—in leveraging diverse perspectives to consider what is possible for clients.”

Pinpoint IP is part of Acumen Powered by Robins Kaplan LLPTM, the firm’s suite of interdisciplinary professional services, differentiated by its litigation focus and commitment to helping clients win what matters most.

All 2023 Leaders in Tech Law finalists can be found here. The award winners will be announced at a ceremony in New York on March 20.

Christopher K. Larus


Chair, National IP and Technology Litigation Group

Back to Top