Prominent Minneapolis Attorney Elected to National Crime Victim Advocacy Group Board of Directors

Kathleen Flynn Peterson to Help Guide Future of National Center for Victims of Crime

Kathleen Flynn Peterson

Washington, DC--The National Center for Victims of Crime, embarking on a new era of leadership, today announced the election of Kathleen Flynn Peterson to its board of directors. Ms. Peterson, a distinguished Minneapolis civil trial attorney, will join a dynamic leadership team in guiding the future of the National Center for Victims of Crime.

The National Center also elected nine other board members from across the country, representing a wide range of disciplines including business, academia, government, law, financial and security services, media, and other fields.  Its newly elected board executive committee includes Chairperson 

Mark Mandell, a leading civil litigator from Providence, Rhode Island; Vice Chairperson David Austern, a crime victim advocate and attorney from Falls Church, Virginia; and Secretary G. Morris Gurley, a founding member of the National Center for Victims of Crime from New York City.

"We are honored that Kathleen will join our Board, said "Board Chairperson Mark Mandell. "Her knowledge, experience, and commitment to victims will inspire and advance all our work."

Ms. Peterson, whose practice focuses on medical malpractice and personal injury, represents individuals and families who have experienced injury or death as a result of medical negligence.  A member of the bar of Arizona, Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota, and the U.S. Supreme Court, she is a fellow of the American Bar Association, the American Bar Foundation, the International Society of Barristers, the International Academy of Trial Lawyers, and the American College of Trial Lawyers. Her many other professional distinctions include serving as past president of the executive committee of the American Association for Justice and co-chair of the Association of Trial Lawyers of America National College of Advocacy.   

Other new board members elected to serve with Ms. Peterson include:

  • Patricia Brown, Executive Content Strategist, BizTech Reports; Washington, DC
  • Denise Forte, Director of Education Policy, House Committee on Education and Labor; Washington, DC
  • Melvin Hewitt, Partner, Isenberg & Hewitt, P.C.; Atlanta, GA
  • Donald A. Migliori, Co-leader, Aviation Team, Motley Rice LLC; Providence, RI
  • Pamela Paziotopoulos, President, Paziotopoulos Group, Ltd.; Chicago, IL
  • Stephen Rickman, Director, Homeland Security, CNA; Las Vegas, NV
  • Charles J. Sgro, Senior Vice President & Associate General Counsel, Citigroup, Inc.; Boonton Township, NJ
  • Francisco Acevedo Villarruel, Professor, Michigan State University; East Lansing, MI
  • David M. Zlotnick, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Roger Williams University School of Law, Bristol, RI

The new leadership will also include the following current board members, who have made great contributions to advancing the National Center for Victims of Crime's mission and will continue to lend their expertise in criminal justice, corporate governance, financial fraud, mental health, privacy management, and crime victim advocacy:

  • Alexander Auersperg, Founder, National Center for Victims of Crime; New York, NY
  • Honorable Carol DiBattiste, Senior Vice President of Privacy, Security, Compliance, and Government Affairs, LexisNexis; Washington, DC
  • Sarah Gold, Partner, Proskauer Rose, LLP; New York, NY
  • Ala Isham, Founder, National Center for Victims of Crime; New York, NY
  • Ralph Isham, Managing Director, GH Venture Partners, LLC; New York, NY
  • Dr. Frank M. Ochberg, M.D., Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, Michigan State University; Okemos, MI
  • Honorable Eric Smith, former Assistant Dean and Professor of Law, Florida Coastal School of Law; Attorney, Maddox Horne Law Firm; Jacksonville, FL

This announcement follows the appointment of Mai Fernandez as Executive Director of the National Center for Victims of Crime, a position she has held since June 2010.