Five Robins Kaplan Attorneys Named To Minnesota Lawyer’s Power 30: Personal Injury List

June 22, 2023


Robins Kaplan LLP is pleased to announce that Bob Bennett, Kate Jaycox, Peter Schmit, Phil Sieff, and Teresa Fariss McClain have been selected to Minnesota Lawyer’s POWER 30: Personal Injury list, honoring the state’s top personal injury attorneys.

Minnesota Lawyer selected the POWER 30 based on interviews with Minnesota attorneys, a review of significant matters, and Minnesota Lawyer’s own coverage of top practitioners and impactful cases. According to Minnesota Lawyer, the POWER 30 profiles attorneys “whose mere presence on a case signifies the stakes, who have influenced the direction of the law, whose leadership in the community is pervasive and whose respect within the bar is undeniable.”

Bob Bennett has spearheaded many of Minnesota’s most important police misconduct, civil rights law, jail suicide, and wrongful death matters over the past four decades. Most recently, he secured settlements totaling $8.875 million with the City of Minneapolis in two police misconduct cases involving Derek Chauvin and multiple other officers.

Kate Jaycox represents individuals and families who have been injured by the pharmaceutical and medical device industry. She has recovered millions of dollars for thousands of injured plaintiffs over her 20-year career and has served in various mass tort litigation leadership positions, including most recently as co-lead of In Re Injectafer (E.D. Pa). A leader in state and national trial organizations, Kate is currently President-Elect of the Minnesota Association for Justice and is immediate past-chair of the American Association for Justice’s Women’s Trial Lawyer Caucus.

Peter Schmit serves as chair of the firm’s National Personal Injury and Medical Malpractice Group. For the past 30 years, he has advocated for injured consumers, trying and settling numerous significant cases in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Iowa. He was inducted into the American Board of Trial Attorneys in 2013 and the American College of Trial Lawyers in 2018.

Phil Sieff has significant experience representing families coping with the wrongful death of a loved one, particularly a child, having handled hundreds of wrongful death cases. With over 27 years of experience in front of judges and juries, he has tried—and won— personal injury and wrongful death cases resulting in numerous million-dollar verdicts and settlements for his clients.

Teresa Fariss McClain has devoted her career to advocating for individuals, first as a registered nurse and now as a partner seeking justice for those who have been harmed by medical errors, medical negligence, or birth injury. A leader in the legal community, she serves on the Executive Committee of the Minnesota ABOTA Chapter, is a member of the Board of Governors for the Minnesota Association for Justice, and is a member of the Advisory Board for Minnesota Women Lawyers. This is the third consecutive year she has been named to the POWER 30.

Peter A. Schmit


Chair, National Personal Injury and Medical Malpractice Group

Teresa Fariss McClain


Co-Chair, First Chair Training Program

Back to Top