Robins Kaplan Practice Groups and Attorneys Finalists for Elite Trial Lawyers Award

June 17, 2019

Robins Kaplan LLP is pleased to announce that the firm has been selected as a finalist for The National Law Journal’s 2019 Elite Trial Lawyers award in both the Antitrust and Medical Malpractice categories. In addition, attorneys Kellie Lerner and Teresa Fariss McClain were selected as finalists to receive the NLJ’s “Elite Women of the Plaintiff’s Bar” award.

The Elite Trial Lawyer Awards recognize U.S. attorneys and law firms that have provided cutting-edge representation and achieved major wins on behalf of plaintiffs. According to the NLJ, the finalists were selected from more than 300 submissions.

Personal Injury and Medical Malpractice

For decades, Robins Kaplan’s Personal Injury and Medical Malpractice Group has achieved remarkable results on behalf of those who have suffered an injury as a result of medical negligence/personal injury. Notably, in 2017 the group helped secure a $20.6 million jury verdict on behalf of the family of a woman who died of sepsis just days after giving birth to her first child. The case stands as the largest medical malpractice wrongful death verdict in Minnesota history.

Antitrust and Trade Regulation

Robins Kaplan’s Antitrust and Trade Regulation Group has regularly taken on, and won, the biggest plaintiff-side antitrust challenges—while opposing the most powerful companies and defense firms—since its inception. It is one of the few national practices to have obtained landmark successes on behalf of both plaintiffs and defendants in major antitrust litigation and at trial, including in several of the most significant antitrust cases ever litigated. The practice made its initial mark nearly two decades ago, when it secured the multibillion-dollar settlement that made it the vanguard firm in the first successful battle with Big Tobacco. Since then, the group has continued to achieve major successes, most recently in the ongoing auto parts class action, in which partial settlements to date exceed $1.1 billion, and in the decade-long air cargo shipping services litigation, which was resolved with total settlements in excess of $1.2 billion.

Kellie Lerner

Kellie Lerner has nearly two decades of experience litigating high-stakes antitrust disputes on behalf of both plaintiffs and defendants in federal courts throughout the country. She has worked on a number of groundbreaking antitrust cases and has obtained almost $100 million in recoveries on behalf of her clients.  Lerner is also responsible for identifying and initiating new antitrust actions at the firm. In this capacity, she has initiated the first antitrust class action lawsuits in the country in dozens of actions that have ultimately resulted in billions of dollars in recoveries for victims of anti-competitive conduct. She also counsels generic pharmaceutical, alternative energy, and entertainment companies on competition issues.

Teresa Fariss McClain

Teresa McClain has devoted her legal practice to obtaining justice for those who have been harmed by medical errors or medical negligence. As first-chair trial counsel, she has obtained multimillion-dollar settlements and verdicts on behalf of clients injured or who have wrongfully died as a result of medical errors, pharmaceutical errors, medical negligence, and personal injury. Her trial work includes securing a jury verdict of more than $3 million on behalf of a woman who lost an eye due to infection. Teresa is a member of two invitation-only organizations: the American Board of Trial Advocates and the International Society of Barristers. She is past president of Minnesota Women Lawyers and serves as the president of the Minnesota Women Lawyers Foundation.

The finalists for the 2019 Elite Trial Lawyers Awards will be recognized at a formal ceremony in New York City on July 18, 2019, at which time winners in each category will be announced.

Kellie Lerner


Co-Chair, Antitrust and Trade Regulation Group;
Pronouns: she/her

Teresa Fariss McClain


Co-Chair, First Chair Training Program

Back to Top