Ronald Schutz Named a Litigation Trailblazer by The National Law Journal

December 7, 2016

December 7, 2016—Robins Kaplan LLP® is pleased to announce that Ronald Schutz, chair of the firm’s IP and Technology Group and managing partner of the firm’s New York office, has been named to The National Law Journal’s annual list of Litigation Trailblazers. Mr. Schutz is one of only 50 attorneys honored this year.

The list recognizes attorneys who have moved the needle with innovative legal strategies and out-of-the-box thinking that is changing how their colleagues practice law. This is the fourth year that The National Law Journal has held this award.

Mr. Schutz has secured victories against Goliaths including GE, Apple, and Canon, earning one nine-figure and multiple eight-figure verdicts on behalf of much smaller plaintiffs. Earlier this year, he won a federal jury award of $5.7 million against La-Z-Boy for breach of a technology license agreement. In his Trailblazers profile, available here, The National Law Journal highlighted Mr. Schutz’s work in Fonar Corp. v. General Electric Co., in which he secured a $110 million jury verdict for client Fonar in one of the 10 largest patent verdicts ever awarded at the time. The profile also recognized his success in Grantley Corp. v. Clear Channel Communications, Inc., in which he secured a $66 million jury verdict against communications corporation Clear Channel in the Eastern District of Texas.

Mr. Schutz serves as a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and is also a member of Robins Kaplan’s Executive Board. Mr. Schutz was honored by Minnesota Lawyer as one of its Attorneys of the Year, and was previously recognized on The National Law Journal’s annual list of the Top 10 Winning Litigators in the United States and as an Intellectual Property Trailblazer. He has also been recognized by Lawdragon as one of the 500 Leading Lawyers in America and by Intellectual Asset Magazine as one of the 300 Leading IP Strategists in the world.

Ronald J. Schutz


Chair of the Executive Board

Related Publications

June 2020
Trade Secrets: Safe as Houses
Christopher Larus, David Prange, Alyssa Bixby-Lawson - Intellectual Property Magazine
June 4, 2020
May 6, 2020
Hatch-Waxman Litigation Venue Update Post-Google
Kelsey McElveen, Ellen Levish - Bloomberg Law
May 4, 2020
Explaining The Almost Unexplainable: Source Code Evidence At Trial
David Prange, Benjamen Linden - LegalTech News
April 7, 2020
Protecting Confidential Information When Sheltering in Place
David Prange, Chris Larus - Corporate Counsel
Back to Top