Attorneys of the Year: Philip Sieff, Katherine Barrett Wiik

November 28, 2016

Minnesota Lawyer recently announced that attorneys Philip Sieff and Katherine Barrett Wiik have been named "2016 Attorneys of the Year." This annual award recognizes the recipients’ leadership abilities, involvement in noteworthy cases, and commitment to public service. Nominations are vetted and chosen by a panel of former "Attorney of the Year" recipients and other professionals in the field.

Robins Kaplan partner Phil Sieff is one of only 13 attorneys chosen to receive an individual award.  Phil is a well-known trial lawyer whose practice focuses on plaintiffs’ injury and wrongful death.  For decades he has battled for justice when wrongdoers have caused serious injury or death and he strives to help clients find the courage they need to face those who have hurt them. He has significant experience representing families coping with the wrongful death of a loved one, particularly a child.  He has particular experience in complex and high profile cases, including serving as lead co-counsel of the I-35W Consortium, a group of 17 law firms that provided legal services to over 100 collapse victims.  This is the second time Phil has been named a Minnesota Lawyer Attorney of the Year.  He was previously recognized in 2008 and with this year’s award, joins Minnesota Lawyer's Circle of Excellence.

Robins Kaplan principal Katie Barrett Wiik was named an “Attorney of the Year” for 2016 for her involvement founding the Minnesota Appeals Self Help Clinic, a walk-in program designed to help self-represented litigants understand the procedures and requirements of the Minnesota appellate courts. Katie is one of several attorneys on the Minnesota State Bar Association’s Appellate Practice Section Council who will be honored for their role in creating the appellate pro se clinic. A skilled appellate attorney, Katie’s experience covers a diverse range of legal issues, including federal standing and jurisdiction, state and federal pleading and claims sufficiency, and commercial and civil rights litigation.

Both attorneys were profiled in Minnesota Lawyer magazine.

Attorney of the Year: Philip Sieff
Attorney of the Year: Katherine Barrett Wiik

Back to Top