Landslide: IP Legal Pitfalls of Machine Learning Systems

American Bar Association Section of Intellectual Property Law

September 22, 2020

Remote

Start Time: 10:00 a.m. PT | 12:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. ET

On September 22, 2020, from 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET, Partner Steven Carlson presented in the American Bar Association Section of Intellectual Property Law webinar, “Landslide: IP Legal Pitfalls of Machine Learning Systems.” Presenters will discuss the IP issues related to machine learning systems and their primary legal vulnerability: once information is incorporated into a model, it becomes virtually impossible to remove. Attendees will learn preventative guidelines for avoiding the legal pitfalls of machine learning systems, including when data models are tainted by trade secret misappropriation, violation of license restrictions, and copyright violations.

Related Publications

September 22, 2020
Herbal Patent Protection
Shui Li - 闻宁阁 American Intellectual Property
August 26, 2020
INSIGHT: Avoiding Trade Secret Claims After Seeing a Competitor’s Crown Jewels
Jake Holdreith, David Prange, Emily Tremblay - Bloomberg Law
July 2020
Hatch-Waxman Patent Litigation Strategies
Jeffrey Alan Hovden - LexisNexis
June 2020
Trade Secrets: Safe as Houses
Christopher Larus, David Prange, Alyssa Bixby-Lawson - Intellectual Property Magazine

Related Events

September 30, 2020
October 1-2, 2020
Minnesota CLE 2020 Midwest IP Institute
Aaron R. Fahrenkrog, Alyssa N. Lawson, Cyrus A. Morton - Minnesota CLE
Remote
October 13, 15, 20, and 22, 2020
Third Annual LF Dealmakers Forum
Patrick Arenz - LF Dealmakers Forum
Remote